You've swept your room clean of every reminder of your ex, but his or her pictures keep popping up on your social media timelines. How will you ever move on, you wonder?
Facebook understands your predicament. And like a truly sympathetic friend, the social media giant will help you see less of your ex.
Yesterday, Facebook rolled out a new feature on its mobile app that will allow you to “take a break” from seeing pictures and posts of your ex, reports Wired.com. This tool swings into action when you change your relationship status to “single”.
If you activate the feature, Facebook will also ensure your ex's name won’t automatically appear when you're writing a new message or tagging friends on photos.
What's best is that Facebook won’t notify your ex about any of the changes, and you can also limit what your ex sees from your Facebook activity.
These features, currently being tested in the US, have been introduced in response to requests by users for a heartbreak-free experience on the popular social media platform.
“This work is part of our ongoing effort to develop resources for people who may be going through difficult moments in their lives,” wrote Facebook Product Manager Kelly Winters in a blog post titled, “Improving the Experience When Relationships End.”
“We hope these tools will help people end relationships on Facebook with greater ease, comfort and sense of control.”