Pakistan's only official football competition for women kicks off on March 8

Published 22 Feb, 2021 04:32pm

Images Staff

The National Women's Football Championship is being held in Karachi.

Photo: PFF
Photo: PFF

The 2021 National Women's Football Championship will kick off in Karachi on March 8. The championship is the country's only official football competition for women.

Twenty teams will participate in the competition, which expects to host 59 matches at three venues in Karachi.

The teams will be divided into four groups of five. For the first time in the history of the competition, a Development Stage will be held along with the knockout stages, which will see teams dropping out from the Group Stage take on each other in a small knockout competition.

The top two teams from each of the four groups will play a conventional Knockout Stage, the winner of which will be declared the NWFC champion.

PFF Normalisation Committee Chairman Haroon Malik said the federation's primary aim is to provide development opportunities to players. He said they have included the Development Stage to help provide players greater opportunities to play and succeed in football.

The groups for the championship are: Group A: Wapda, Gilgit WFC, Hazara Girls FA, Hazara Quetta FA, Model Town WFC Group B: Karachi United, Karachi WFC, Masha United FC, HEC, Sialkot City WFC Group C: Pakistan Army, JAFA Soccer Academy, Riaz Kamil FC, Young Rising Stars Layyah Group D: Diya WFC, Mohsen Gilani WFC, MUK FC, Nawanshehr United FA, Highlanders FC