PSL's 2020 opening ceremony will feature 350 artists

Updated 18 Feb, 2020 06:17pm

Images Staff

The ceremony will be held this Thursday at National Stadium in Karachi.

As many as 350 artists will perform in the opening ceremony of the HBL PSL 2020, which will be held at Karachi’s National Stadium on Thursday.

Following a press release, here’s what we know about what’s going to happen.

The ceremony will begin at 6:45pm and Abrar-ul-Haq, Aima Baig, Abu Mohammad, Fareed Ayaz, Rahat Fateh Ali Khan, Sajjad Ali, Sanam Marvi and rock band Soch are a few of the renowned names expected to perform at the opening.

These will be followed by Ali Azmat, Arif Lohar, Haroon and Asim Azhar who will be performing HBL PSL 2020’s anthem, ‘Tayyar Hain‘.

The opening match of the tournament is set to take place between Quetta Gladiators and Islamabad united – the toss for which be held at 8:30pm.

HBL Pakistan Super League 2020 will carry a total prize money of US$1million.

Champions and winners of the final held on 22 March at Lahore’s Gaddafi Stadium will receive a check of US $500K along with the new trophy, while the runners-up will be rewarded US $200K as prize money. All 34 players of the matches will also be subjected to US $4,500 each.

Furthermore, $80K will be equally distributed to player of the tournament, best batsman, best bowler and Spirit of Cricket. The remaining amount will be distributed for other match-related awards like best catch, best run-out and most sixes.

Super League will be held across four venues with Karachi staging nine, Lahore 14, Rawalpindi eight and Multan three matches altogether.